Early Voting

Information gathered from Ballotpedia:

As of February 2016, the following 34 states (plus the District of Columbia) permitted early voting in some form:[1]

Note: This tally includes states that permit “in-person absentee” voting, which is the process whereby voters are allowed “to apply in person for an absentee ballot (without an excuse) and cast that ballot in one trip to an election official’s office” prior to the date of an election.[1]

States without early voting

The following 13 states do not permit early voting in any form:[1]

States with all-mail voting

The remaining three states (Colorado, Oregon and Washington) use all-mail voting systems, thereby eliminating the need for early voting.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s