Live Your Life to the Fullest

Live Your Life to the Fullest

{repost from December 27, 2009 }

We are in the midst of the Holiday season and at this time of year it’s hard not to stop and thank God for all of our blessings. I, for one, am so grateful that God’s GRACE is sufficient and that His MERCY is new every morning. No, this is not a sermon, but I truly have to give God praise for never letting me go even in the midst of “being me”, he has never let go! And for that I am so grateful.

I have been thinking a lot lately about choices and life and purpose. And as this year comes to a close I know that several of you are doing the same. Many of you will resolve to do things better, different or just simply quit some things altogether. Everyone is going to want to lose weight, get in shape, get out of debt, travel more, work less, love more, give more and the list goes on and on, because we all know that:

New Year = New Opportunities.

If you have yet to see the Movie ‘Bucket List’, pick up a copy at your local video store. This movie is about 2 men that are gravely ill and they make a list of the things that they want to do before they ‘kick the bucket’ (bucket list) the movie takes you on their journey.

As we approach the end of 2009, and look towards 2010, I am encouraging each of you to take a moment to honestly reflect on 2009. Take an inventory of your life as it unfolded this year.

I am a huge fan of people keeping a journal, ask almost anyone that knows me and they will tell you that I almost always gift a journal. I believe the Word, and it says to ‘write the vision”.

Buy yourself a journal and then just start writing. There is no script, you simply just write. Whatever is on your mind, write it down. If you want to do something different then make a plan and START DOING IT… the first step is usually the hardest, but know that if you take that first step, then you can trust that God will be there to help you with the rest.

Assess your life, spiritually, physically, mentally, and professionally. When you are finished, look at that list and then “see” it as your template for what you can begin to act upon now and as you head into 2010.

Many of us already know that God is calling us to do more and be more, but we have become stuck in our comfort zone and we really don’t want to stretch beyond our current point.

We are content.

Contentment is a scary place.

Are you LIVING or do you simply just EXIST?

If you are not being stretched then perhaps you are not following the right path.

Write out a Bucket List; (of at least 10 things), anything from skydiving to mountain climbing, to getting a nose ring or getting a tattoo. Don’t do anything crazy like quit a job without a backup plan, but I am saying just take 1 item off your bucket list and do it in the next couple of weeks. Then move on to the next thing until you are done.

The only person preventing you from living your destiny is you. Everything else is just obstacles set in your way to try to empower you to persevere and press forward. So I implore you to PRESS ON! Whatever it is just do it, make the decision that today will be the last day that you are not walking in your truth.

Writing this I am reminded of one of my favorite songs, a song by Tim McGraw that he released a few years back called ‘Live like you were dying’.

Some of the Song Lyrics:

He said I was in my early forties, with a lot of life before me

And one moment came that stopped me on a dime

I spent most of the next days, looking at the x-rays

Talking bout’ the options and talking bout’ sweet times.

I asked him when it sank in, that this might really be the real end

How’s it hit ‘cha when you get that kind of news?

Man what did ya do?

He said

Chorus

I went skydiving

I went rocky mountain climbing

I went two point seven seconds on a bull named Fu Man Chu

And I loved deeper

And I spoke sweeter

And I gave forgiveness I’d been denyin’

And he said some day I hope you get the chance

To live like you were dyin’

 

I hope each of you get the chance to Live Like You Were Dying…Start TODAY!

One thought on “Live Your Life to the Fullest

Leave a Reply

